The Catholic Foundation Celebrates 30 Years of Service

The Catholic Foundation is pleased to present the 2015-16 Annual Report previewed at our 30th Anniversary celebration, March 28. We also premiered a commemorative video highlighting the foundation’s mission and achievements which you may view by visiting https://dosafl.com/catholic-foundation/.

Bishop Estévez gives his address at the Catholic Foundation 30th anniversary celebration at the TPC Sawgrass Clubhouse in Ponte Vedra Beach. (Photo by Mike Bondanza)

A welcome greeting from Bishop Estévez followed with his inspiring vision of the foundation’s endowment funds as a “Eucharistic” form of perpetual giving to our Church. Bishop Estévez expressed that “Christ gave his life once for all but through the Holy Eucharist, His life-giving gift continues to pour our his grace perpetually, much as the foundation’s endowment funds do in support of our many parishes, schools and vital ministries!”

Bob Shircliff presents an endowment check to Rick Jones, past board president of Guardian Catholic Schools. (Photo by Mike Bondanza)

Bishop Emeritus John J. Snyder, who established the foundation in 1987,  was honored with the  annual “Bishop John J. Snyder Legacy Leadership Award.” This inaugural award was presented to Bob Shircliff for his enduring leadership in support of the Catholic Foundation and our diocese. Instead of a plaque or memorabilia, the foundation board decided to award the recipient with $1,000 to gift to any diocesan organization with a permanent endowment fund with the Catholic Foundation. Bob selected Guardian Catholic Schools to receive his perpetual gift and their board’s past President, Rick Jones accepted.

Board Chair Dick Mulvey followed the award ceremony by acknowledging current and past foundation board members. He called the past chairs who were present to the podium to join him, and they were honored with a rosary blessed by Pope Francis.

Click here to read the Catholic Foundation’s Annual Report

Past members of the Catholic Foundation Board, pictured from left: Dick Mulvey (2017 Chair), Deacon George Good, Msgr. Vincent Haut, Kay Zambetti, Rita Joost (representing husband, Hobart Joost, Sr.*), Bob Shircliff, Margaret Helow (representing husband, George*), Ernie Bono, Gwen Yates, Jim Marx and Dick Morales. Note: “*” indicates deceased members. (Photo by Mike Bondanza)